A memory of a friend

I feel like a theme of this month has been my friend moving away, but tonight was our last “hang-out” night.  We went to our favorite diner (sadly they did not have any of her favorite dessert) and talked until after closing.

Here’s a memory:

A couple of summers ago, my friend and I were hanging out one autumn-but-feels-like-summer evening (probably watching TLC or some sappy chick-flick).  Somehow we got to talking about geocaching.  I had just finished North of Beautiful, which has geocaching as a subplot.  She shared with me the details of geocaching, and I was hooked.  My sister came home, and as soon as she heard what geocaching was (really she heard global treasure hunt!), she wanted to go immediately.  We searched the site and found a cache within walking distance from my house.  We took a flashlight and a pencil (for the register) and headed out.  It was a sneaky cache hidden in the parking spot cement “bumper”.  At one point my sister was sprawled on the parking lot trying to wrangle the rod out of the “bumper”.  After two trips back to my house for more supplies and most likely scaring the two police officers in the parking lot, we finally had success and added our names to the register!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A memory of a friend

  1. Beth Rogers says:

    What a great memory…I can almost picture your sister laying in a parking lot. Very funny!

  2. jhaworthoy says:

    Cool….I have considered doing that. I have done a bit of Letter Boxing…which is similar, but not as high tech. You have got me curious to try this…but will wait for warmer weather. I hope that you will be able to visit your friend. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  3. I didn’t know people really did this – although I have wondered…and suspect I would find it fascinating! Your acknowledgement of your friend is touching and dear….I wish you both well on your journeys.

  4. Betsy says:

    My family (kids and husband) love to do this. We have found plenty in many different places in Michigan. it is a great activity when out camping. FUN!

Leave a Reply

