Delivering Spring

Today was Daffodil Days at school. The Kiwanis Builders Club that I co-advise participates each year in the American Cancer Society’s Daffodil Days. While this year wasn’t our best sales-wise, it’s always fun to deliver these unopened flowers of hope and spring! I love hearing the kids ask, “Is that asparagus?” Makes me chuckle every time!

I bought a bunch for my great aunt Jo and delivered them to her at the nursing home this afternoon. What a pleasure it is to sit and talk with her! (The only way it could’ve been better is if I’d stopped on my way to pick up Revonah pretzels (they are amazing!) and a Diet Coke, but Revonah’s was already closed and I gave up Diet Coke for Lent (only 10 more days! I’m not counting down the days or anything, and my mouth isn’t salivating just thinking about it either! But I digress…).) My aunt Jo is down to earth and realistic; she loves to hear about all of the new things going on with me. She also has a great sense of humor; her laugh fills a room and is contagious! Hopefully the daffodils brightened her day as much as she brightened mine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Delivering Spring

  1. readsomuch says:

    We had daffodils on the table in our lounge today. It’s funny that you mentioned asparagus – they do look like that. I’m sure your aunt appreciated your visit and it’s fun that you shared some laughs. Happy spring!

  2. I love the daffodils. What a wonderful surprise for your aunt. I hope you have many more wonderful visits.

  3. Betsy says:

    I love daffodils; what a lovely way to brighten a day!

  4. THose daffodils are not only reminders of our war with cancer, they brighten our spring days. I am SURE you Aunt will smile for days….as will my Aunt when hers are delivered soon.

Leave a Reply

